Each group has settings that can be edited by Group Managers and Community Managers. If you are a manager, you can edit the settings by clicking on the settings gear icon on each group page.
We have started you off with some default settings for each group. Some of these settings can be edited, but others are fixed for now, as we gradually release more flexible ways for you to manage your groups. (We'd love your feedback on this - so if there is something you'd like us to build sooner rather than later, let us know!)
When the Community Manager creates any draft groups, we add them as secret groups. This means that regular members will not be able to see them int the list of Groups.
When they are published, the group is no longer marked as secret, and it is visible in the groups list. NB. This field cannot be edited from the Group Settings -- it can only be changed by the Community manager in the groups list.
By default, all groups are closed, which means only members can view the content of the group.
Non members will be shown the following message:
'This is a closed group, so content is only available to group members."
If the Group Manager unchecks this setting, the group will no longer be 'closed' and the content would be visible to non-members.
By default, all groups are joinable, which means any community member can join the group directly.
If the Group Manager unchecks this setting, the group will no longer be 'joinable' and non-members will not be able to join directly (no join button will be displayed) so they will have to be invited instead.
At this time, group pages cannot be public, so only logged in members can see the group page at all. Non-members will only see a log-in page if the group is not public.
In future, it will be possible to make the group page public so that non-members can see a description about the group and request to join. We'll keep you posted with this feature. Let us know if it is important to you via our feedback menu option.
By default currently, groups do not require approval to join them. (However they can be invite-only if they are not 'joinable'.) In future it will be possible to request to join, subject to approval. We'll keep you posted with this feature. Let us know if it is important to you via our feedback menu option.
Group Emails can be sent by members
By default, all group members can email all members of the group from the group page by choosing the 'Post & email group' option when posting. This makes it easy for 30-60 parents in a class to keep in touch with each other.
However, if a group is very large, e.g. for a year group with several hundred parents, you may wish to limit permissions for emailing the whole group to the group managers. In this case, the option for members to send group emails can be removed by unchecking this group setting.
When members post to the wall, only group managers are notified by email. This means they can choose to send a group-wide message on their behalf if appropriate.
Wall messages can also be seen and replied to by group members who are browsing. They can also choose to 'Follow' the conversation thread if it is of particular interest to them, and they will receive email notifications for any further replies. They can also 'unfollow' the thread if they would like to stop receiving notifications of replies.